Foire aux questions

Retrouvez ici l'ensemble des questions les plus fréquemment posées.

The French word for linden, tilleul, comes from the Greek “tilos” which describes the phloem of the plant, the fiber which is extracted from the linden bark. Long before humans knew how to extract the fibers from linen or hemp, they knew how to extract linden fibers. Since prehistoric times the linden has been known as the “rope tree”.

In Latin it is called Tilia (and tilio in the Middle Ages)

TiL is the name of the linden in old French, and the root “til” gave rise to many village and place names. 

Tils are the ropes made from lindens, because the fibers are long and very strong.

The linden is the “tree that binds” in all senses of the word, TiL is aptly named…

Yes, all our cosmetic products are linden based, since they all contain our exclusive active ingredient Tiliactiv4 ® which we developed using the buds, branches, leaves and flowers of the linden trees grown on our family estate in the Dordogne.

Our dietary supplement is also linden based (sapwood and flowers) grown in France, but not from our estate. Why? The Poudre Zéro Souci has such a high concentration of linden extracts, to justify the detox and relaxation claims, that it would be impossible for us to produce such quantities on the family estate. But more importantly, sapwood is the part of the tree between the bark and the heart, and it is out of the question for us to strip our trees.

Regarding the perfume, linden is what is known in perfumery as a “mute” flower, like lily of the valley, violet or lilac, its flowers leave no useable extract for scents, it is up to the perfumer to patiently recreate the olfactory impression. L’Eau qui Enlace, created by the perfumer Francis Kurkdjian, recreates the scent that envelopes the TiL domain on early June mornings when the trees are in full bloom. It delicately recreates each facet, green, floral, honeyed and powdery.

Of course not. Linden, with our proprietary ingredient Tiliactiv4 ® which we developed using the buds, branches, leaves and flowers of the linden trees grown on our family estate in the Dordogne is not the only active ingredient. 

Our cosmetic formulas, particularly those that aren’t rinsed off, are mixed with other ingredients, ones whose effects are complimentary to Tiliactiv4®, to maximize efficacy.

Le Baume qui Ressource also contains natural extracts of Centifolia Rose from Grasse, Alfalfa, Passiflora and Nasturtium which is grown and transformed in France.

Le Lait Corps et Ame contains ivy and horsetail extracts with the same French guarantees.

La Poudre Zéro Souci formula contains, on top of the linden flowers and sapwood, lemon balm, burdock, vitamin B6 and magnesium.

Of course, even if the linden has been known for centuries for its many benefits for the mind and body, we wanted to objectively prove its properties thanks to 21st century science. 

For cosmetics, the principal ingredient Tiliactiv4 ® which we developed using the buds, branches, leaves and flowers of the linden trees grown on our family estate in the Dordogne, was scientifically tested and was shown to significantly decrease free radicals and inflammation. The hydrating power of linden is extensively mentioned in literature, and our lindens are particularly high in hydrating polysaccharides.

The other active ingredients all underwent scientific tests to measure their efficacy, it was one of our major criteria in choosing active ingredients. 

For La Poudre Zéro Souci, the extremely strict regulations for nutritional supplements requires a minimum concentration to be able to claim an effect. The effects we claim, detoxifying, relaxation and radiance are guaranteed by the concentrations of their respective ingredients.

For L'Eau qui Enlace, we wanted to objectively measure the perfume, we used neuroscience to measure the emotional impact of the scent, for us it was extremely important that the scent not only smell good but contribute to wellbeing.

Neuroscientists undertook a clinical study to analyze the behavioral, physiological and cognitive aspects of the scent, to define the perfume’s emotional signature. The study showed that TiL’s olfactory note elicits spontaneous positive emotions: manifest joy, comfort, and a calming and relaxing effects that go well beyond the simple pleasure of using a perfume.

Yes, all TiL products are “clean”, good for your skin and the planet. Our cosmetic formulas are, on average 96 to 99% natural, and contain no controversial ingredients such as parabens, phenoxyethanol, mineral oils, silicones, SLS, aluminum salts, EDTA, PEG polymers...Our products are vegan and cruelty free.

For us, “clean” goes beyond our formulas and extends to packaging. Perfection doesn’t exist, and there is always room for improvement, but our packaging is as respectful as possible: they are all made in France or in Europe, our jars are made of recyclable glass, our large bottles are made of recyclable PET (a large weight of glass has a negative carbon impact), and our lids are made of Bakelite (a recyclable material, not made from petrochemicals and made of at least 40% plant matter).  The exterior packaging is made of recyclable FSC cardboard, from sustainably managed forests, respecting both man and nature. We have banished cellophane from our packaging, and paper instructions have been replaced by a QR code so that you can know everything about our products, in all transparency, without wasting paper.

How can one mention the linden without bringing up its incredible scent? Impossible. We therefore decided to lightly scent TiL’s cosmetic products, because sensoriality is ingrained in our DNA and because the scent of lindens in bloom is particularly delicious and comforting. For us, pleasure and efficacy go together, and by smelling good our products are already contributing to your wellbeing!

La Poudre Zéro Souci is not scented but contains natural blackcurrant flavor to make it flavorful and to counteract the high concentration of plant extracts that can be bitter.

Yes TiL products are 100% French, it was an essential criteria for us.

Our cosmetics, perfume and dietary supplement are 100% Made in France, but beyond that, TiL is rooted in the Dordogne, like our lindens.

The buds, branches, leaves and flowers that go into TiL’s exclusive active ingredient Tiliactiv4®, are harvested on our family estate in the heart of the Parc Naturel Régional Périgord Limousin, and our cosmetic production site is in the Dordogne.

As for the perfume concentrate, it is made in Grasse, the cradle of French perfumery.

Yes, all of TiL’s products are vegan and contain no animal products. 

TiL products are cruelty free and are absolutely not tested on animals. Animal testing goes against our beliefs, we even raise sheep on the family estate. Unlike some, we don’t want to use this as a sales argument, which would be misleading, since animal testing has been forbidden by European regulation for 10 years! So, it’s no longer really discussion worthy… 

TiL products can be used on all skin types, as is the case with most cosmetics. Nevertheless, we recommend that people with highly reactive or intolerant skin test the product first, as they would with any other product. But the calming tenderness of the linden, the natural ingredients, and the choice of gentle cleansing ingredients make the products skin-friendly.

Votre panier

Signup to received our fresh news

Receive our latest news, beauty and well-being tips every month.

Foire aux questions

Retrouvez ici l'ensemble des questions les plus fréquemment posées.

Le mot tilleul vient du grec « tilos », désignant le liber, c’est à dire la fibre extraite de l’écorce de tilleul. On a su extraire ces fibres bien avant celles du chanvre ou du lin, et depuis la préhistoire le tilleul était « l’arbre à cordes ».

En latin, on le nomme Tilia (et tilio au Moyen Age)

TiL est le nom du tilleul en vieux français, et la racine « til » a donné naissance à de nombreux noms de lieux et villages. 

Les tils sont les liens faits en tilleul, car les fibres sont très longues et très solides. 

Le tilleul est donc bien « l’arbre du lien » dans tous les sens du terme, et TiL porte bien son nom…

Oui, tous nos produits cosmétiques sont à base de tilleul, puisqu’ils contiennent tous l’actif exclusif que nous avons développé à partir des bourgeons, rameaux, feuilles et fleurs des tilleuls de notre domaine familial en Dordogne, le Tiliactiv4 ®.

Notre complément alimentaire est aussi à base de tilleul, aubier et fleurs, récoltés en France mais ne provenant pas de notre domaine. Pourquoi ? La Poudre Zéro Souci est tellement concentrée en extraits de tilleul, pour pouvoir justifier des allégations de détox et détente, qu’elle demande des volumes extrêmement importants que nous ne pourrions pas assurer en production familiale. Mais surtout, l’aubier est la partie du bois entre l’écorce et le cœur du tronc, et il est évidemment exclu de couper et déshabiller nos arbres.

Quant au parfum, le tilleul fait partie des quelques fleurs dites « muettes » en parfumerie, comme le muguet, la violette ou le lilas par exemple, c’est-à-dire qu’elles ne livrent aucun extrait utilisable dans un parfum, et c’est au parfumeur qu’il appartient alors, patiemment, de recomposer les impressions olfactives. L’Eau qui Enlace, élaborée par le parfumeur Francis Kurkdjian, reproduit l’odeur qui embaume l’air du domaine de TiL les petits matins de juin, quand la floraison des tilleuls est à son apogée. On y retrouve délicatement ciselée chaque facette, à la fois verte, florale, miellée et poudrée.

Non, bien sûr. Le tilleul, avec notre actif exclusif développé à partir des bourgeons, rameaux, feuilles et fleurs des tilleuls de notre domaine familial en Dordogne, le Tiliactiv4 ®, n’est pas le seul ingrédient actif.

Les formules de nos produits cosmétiques, surtout les soins qui ne se rincent pas, intègrent d’autres ingrédients, aux actions complémentaires du Tiliactiv4®,  pour une efficacité maximale. 

Ainsi le Baume qui Ressource contient aussi des extraits d’origine naturelle de Rose Centifolia de Grasse, d’Alfalfa, de Passiflore et Capucine, tous fabriqués en France, et à partir de plantes récoltées en France.

Le Lait Corps et Ame contient des extraits de lierre et de prêle, avec les mêmes garanties françaises.

La formule de la Poudre Zéro Souci contient, en plus de l’aubier et des fleurs de tilleul, de la mélisse, de la bardane, de la vitamine B6 et du magnésium.

Oui bien sûr, même si le tilleul est connu depuis la nuit des temps pour ses multiples bienfaits sur le corps et l’esprit, nous tenions absolument à objectiver ses propriétés à l’aide de la science du 21 ème siècle.

Pour la cosmétique, l’actif central, le Tiliactiv4®, créé à partir des bourgeons, rameaux, feuilles et fleurs des tilleuls de notre domaine familial en Dordogne, a fait l’objet de tests scientifiques montrant une diminution très significative des radicaux libres et de l’inflammation. Le pouvoir hydratant du tilleul fait l’objet d’une bibliographie importante, et il est avéré que nos tilleuls contiennent des polysaccharides (hydratants) en quantité très importante.

Les autres actifs complémentaires ont tous fait l’objet de tests scientifiques mesurant leur efficacité, c’était pour nous une obligation dans nos critères de sélection des actifs.

Pour la Poudre Zéro Souci, la règlementation extrêmement contraignante des compléments alimentaires exige d’avoir une concentration minimum très précise pour justifier d’une action. Les actions que nous revendiquons, détox, détente et éclat, sont donc garanties par cette concentration des ingrédients respectifs.

Concernant l’Eau qui Enlace, nous voulions objectiver aussi le parfum en faisant appel aux neurosciences pour mesurer son impact émotionnel, car il nous importait qu’il ne fasse pas que sentir divinement bon, mais aussi qu’il fasse vraiment du bien.

C’est ainsi qu’une étude clinique a été menée par des neuroscientifiques pour analyser les dimensions comportementale, physiologique et cognitive permettant de caractériser la signature émotionnelle du parfum. Il en est ressorti que la note olfactive de TiL engendre des émotions positives spontanées, qui sont une joie manifeste, du réconfort et un effet calmant et relaxant, bien au-delà d’un simple plaisir lié à l’utilisation normale d’un parfum.

Oui, tous les produits TiL sont « clean », bons pour votre peau et pour la planète. Nos formules cosmétiques sont d’origine naturelle en moyenne de 96 à 99%, ne contiennent pas d’ingrédients controversés tels que parabens, phenoxyethanol, huiles minérales, silicones, SLS, sels d’aluminium, EDTA, polymères PEG... Elles sont vegan et évidemment cruelty free.

Pour nous, le « clean » va au-delà des formules et concerne aussi l’emballage. La perfection n’existe pas et nous avons forcément une marge d’amélioration, mais nos emballages sont les plus respectueux possibles :  tous fabriqués en France ou en Europe, des pots en verre recyclable, des flacons grande contenance en PET recyclable (un gros poids de verre a un mauvais impact carbone), des capots en bakélite (matière recyclable, non dérivée du pétrole et contenant au minimum 40% de matière végétale), des étuis en carton recyclable FSC issu de forêts gérées durablement. Pas de cellophane sur nos étuis ni notices à l’intérieur, mais à la place un QR code pour que vous sachiez tout sur nos produits, dans un souci de transparence, mais sans gâcher de papier.

Comment évoquer le tilleul sans faire référence à son odeur inoubliable ? Impossible ! Nous avons donc fait le choix de parfumer les produits cosmétiques de TiL car d’une part la sensorialité fait partie intégrante de notre ADN et parce que l’odeur du tilleul en fleurs est particulièrement délicieuse et réconfortante.. Pour nous, le plaisir est indissociable de l’efficacité et en sentant bon, nos produits font déjà du bien !

La Poudre Zéro Souci n’est pas parfumée mais contient un arôme naturel de cassis pour la rendre très gourmande, la concentration très élevée de plantes provoquant sinon une amertume.

Oui les produits TiL sont 100% français, c’était un critère essentiel de notre cahier des charges.

Nos cosmétiques, parfum et complément alimentaire sont 100% Made in France, mais au delà, TiL est enracinée en Dordogne, comme nos tilleuls.

Les bourgeons, fleurs, feuilles et rameaux constituant l’actif cosmétique exclusif TiL, le Tiliactiv4®, sont cueillis dans notre domaine familial au coeur du Parc Naturel Régional Périgord Limousin, et notre usine de production cosmétique est en Dordogne.

Quant au concentré parfumé, il est fabriqué à Grasse, haut lieu historique de la parfumerie française.

Oui, les produits de TiL sont tous vegan, aucun ne contient de substances d’origine animale.

Les produits TiL sont « cruelty free », ils ne sont évidemment pas testés sur animaux, c’est à l’opposé de nos convictions, nous qui possédons dans le domaine familial une ferme et un élevage de brebis. Mais nous ne souhaitons pas en faire comme certains un argument « marketing » qui serait fallacieux, car il faut savoir que de toute façon les tests sur animaux sont formellement interdits par la réglementation européenne depuis quasiment 10 ans ! Ce n’est donc plus un sujet…

Les produits TiL sont adaptés à tous les types de peaux comme l’immense majorité des produits cosmétiques. Nous conseillons néanmoins aux peaux très réactives et intolérantes, comme pour n’importe quel autre produit, de faire un test préalable. Mais la tendresse apaisante du tilleul, la naturalité des actifs, et le choix d’ingrédients très doux pour le nettoyage en font des formules très respectueuses de la peau.

Votre panier

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Recevez nos dernières nouveautés, des conseils beautés et bien-être tous les mois.